Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: Member News

Annual Awards 2017

Thursday, 02 November 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Ernest Roper
Share |

Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal annual awards event was held on Friday 27 October 2017 at the Mount Edgecombe Conference Centre where the Association played host to KZN’s construction industry. 

President of the Association Mrs Dolly Tembe opened the gala event by conveying a warm welcome to all delegates. “To all our entrants, well done on the superb quality of your work and thank you for your contribution in driving the sustainability of the building industry through the delivery of high calibre projects. I encourage our members to continue to embrace economic transformation as it will lead to a more sustainable construction industry.”   

The 2017 event also saw the introduction of a charity drive supporting the Make A Difference Leadership Foundation (MAD). MAD Scholar Support Unit Manager, Landisiwe Binza along with Miss India SA Neerathi Naidu encouraged delegates to contribute to this worthy cause by making a pledge. The initiative raised R117 900, 00.

Vikashnee Harbhajan, Executive Director of Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal said “”Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal Annual Awards recognises and celebrates Excellence in Construction and Health and Safety within the KZN Construction industry.” She reiterated that the Excellence in Construction Competition is intended to put the spotlight on quality workmanship and professional standards displayed by members of the Association. Our Members are committed to achieving and maintaining high performance standards and this is proudly showcased by the Association. 

Adding to the splendour of the occasion, East Coast Radio aired their evening show ‘East Coast Urban with Deon Govender’ live from the event securing interviews with member companies and the Association’s Executive Director, Vikashnee Harbhajan. The winners were also announced on air.  

Carl Mouton, received the highly prestigious Award of Merit in recognition of his outstanding and positive contribution to the KwaZulu-Natal construction industry. 
The annual award for Women in Construction went to Khanyisile Khoza from Bahlomile Development & Project Solutions.

Supplier of the Year was awarded to Lafarge Industries South Africa. Safety Person of the Year went to Priya Rungasami from Much Asphalt.

The Supreme Award for Excellence in Health and Safety was presented to AVENG GRINAKER-LTA for Henwood Road Plant Yard. The Supreme Award for Excellence in Construction was presented to Deck, Steel & Concrete CC for Humana Health Care Facility. The Association celebrated Stefanutti Stocks Building KZN as the inaugural overall winner, introduced to honour the company who excelled in both construction and health and safety. Congratulations to Stefanutti Stocks Building KZN on their outstanding achievements.

Dromex a major player in the supply of technology solutions for personal protective equipment was once again the Prestige Marketing Partner for the event and STE Scaffolding was the Platinum Marketing Partner. 

The MC for the event was the glamorous radio personality Nongcebo Vukile McKenzie.

Award Recipient List, Excellence in Construction (PDF Download)

Award Recipient List, Excellence in Occupational Health and Safety (PDF Download)

Click here to view photo booth images from the evening

Image Captions top to Bottom:

Stefanutti Stocks Building KZN (Overall Winner) with Dolly Tembe, President Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal.

Vikashnee Harbhajan, Executive Director Master Builders Kwazulu-Natal with Reigning Miss India SA, Neerathi Naidu.

Khanyisile Khoza: Woman in Construction Award (second from left)

Priya Rungasami: Safety Person of the Year (centre).

Deck, Steel and Concrete CC (Supreme Winner Excellence in Construction) with Dolly Tembe, President Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal

Roland Mudaly of Aveng Grinaker – LTA (centre) Supreme Winner Health and Safety.

Lafarge Industries South Africa (Supplier of the Year) with Dolly Tembe, President Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal.

Carl Mouton: Award of Merit (centre)

Social Media
 Twitter  facebook  Instagram